Program

Daily Program

Simultaneous interpretation is provided during this conference.

Home / Program / Daily Program

Plenary 7 **Korean Session**

Seoul pedestrian safety policy

May 28(Fri.), 202109:00~10:20(KST) / 20:00~21:20(EDT) / 01:00~02:20(BST)

Session Description

In this session, we will discuss policies for pedestrian safety in Seoul. We will look into major projects to build a walkable city, such as creating protection zones for children/senior citizens, creating wider crosswalks, and establishing future transport and pedestrian safety.

Moderator

  • Justin S. Chang Professor, Department of Environmental Planning, Seoul National University

Speakers

  • Sangjin Han Senior Research Fellow, Centre for Transport Safety, Korea Transport Institute
  • Youngjun Han Associate Research Fellow, Department of Transportation System Research, The Seoul Institute
  • Jongmin Kim Professional Engineer, Department of Pedestrian Policy Division, Seoul Metropolitan Government

Plenary 8

Data and how we know what to want

May 28(Fri.), 202110:30~11:50(KST) / 21:30~22:50(EDT) / 02:30~03:50(BST)

Session Description

With more data at our finger tips than ever before, do we know enough and the right things about walking and what people want to make informed decisions? Who decides what data to collect and how it is used? These questions will be explored from different perspectives including government, advocates and practitioners.

Moderator

  • Bronwen Thornton CEO, Walk21

Speakers

  • Trevor Shilton National Director Active Living, National Heart Foundation, Australia
  • Anne Kerr Managing Director, Greater China, Mott MacDonald Hong Kong Limited
  • D. Taylor Reich Research Associate, Institute for Transportation and Development Policy (ITDP)

Oral Presentation 4

Improving the walking environment and addressing air pollution: It’s a win-win!

May 28(Fri.), 202113:00~14:20(KST) / 00:00~01:20(EDT) / 05:00~06:20(BST)

Session Description

When we talk about the experience of walkability it is not only the built form but the surrounding air and noise that impacts on both our pleasure and our health while we walk. This session will explore how advocates for good air and good walking streets are allies in the necessary campaigns to improve our communities and encourage people to walk.

Moderator

  • Margarita Parra Cobaleda Director of Transport, Clean Energy Works

Speakers

  • Haesung Ahn Master’s course, Chung-Ang University, Korea
  • Glynda Bathan-Baterina Deputy Executive Director, Clean Air Asia
  • Mary Creagh Chief Executive, Living Streets, UK
  • Patrick K W Fung Chief Executive Officer, Clean Air Network, Hong Kong
  • Hyungsup Lee Senior Programme Management Officer, Asia and the Pacific Office, UN Environment Programme (UNEP)

Oral Presentation 5

Measuring Walking: the invisible asset and how to make it more visible

May 28(Fri.), 202114:30~15:50(KST) / 01:30~02:50(EDT) / 06:30~07:50(BST)

Session Description

Building on past workshops at Walk21 to develop an agreed set of international indicators for measuring walking, this session will explore how existing international data sets could be viewed through a walking lens to illustrate the variation in walking experiences around the world. It will include a discussion on the limits and opportunity to use data to make the walking asset more visible and stimulate action to improve it.

Moderator

  • Daniel Sauter Director, Owner, Urban Mobility Research, Switzerland

Speakers

  • Jim Walker Founder, Walk21
  • Aida Kaffel Rodriguez Consultant, Walk21
  • Fiona Bull Unit Head, Department of Physical Activity, World Health Organization (WHO)
  • Stefanie Holzwarth Associate Urban Mobility Specialist, United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat)
  • Monica Olyslagers Global Innovation Manager and Cities Specialist, International Road Assessment Programme (iRAP)

Oral Presentation 6

Understanding and creating safe places for people to walk

May 28(Fri.), 202116:00~17:20(KST) 03:00~04:20(EDT) 08:00~09:20(BST)

Session Description

With the dawn of the Second Decade of Action for Road Safety, mode shift to more walking and cycling is recognised as a key road safety action. This session will explore initiatives from Colombia, Russia and India and research from Korea about making our streets safer for walking, especially for the vulnerable.

Moderator

  • Monica Olyslagers Global Innovation Manager and Cities Specialist, International Road Assessment Programme (iRAP)

Speakers

  • Natalia Lleras Healthy Cities Lead and Vivo Mi Calle Project Director, Despacio, Colombia
  • Dhawal Ashar Senior Manager, World Resources Institute (WRI)
  • Daria Raspopina Co-founder, Center for Urban Projects, Shtab, Russia
  • Sangjin Han Senior Research Fellow, Centre for Transport Safety, Korea Transport Institute

Closing Speech

Walking as the key to sociality

May 28(Fri.), 202117:30~18:00(KST) / 04:30~05:00(EDT) / 09:30~10:00(BST)

Speakers

  • Nick Tyler Director, Centre for Transport Studies, University College London
  • Jim Walker Founder, Walk21

Conference Report & Conclusions

May 28(Fri.), 202118:00~18:15(KST) / 05:00~05:15(EDT) / 10:00~10:15(BST)

Speakers

  • Jim Walker Founder, Walk21

Handover Ceremony

May 28(Fri.), 202118:15~18:30(KST) / 05:15~05:30(EDT) / 10:15~10:30(BST)

Speakers

  • Haekyeong Lee General Director, Department of Pedestrian Friendly Planning Bureau, Seoul Metropolitan Government
  • David FitzPatrick President, Technological University Dublin (TU Dublin)
Top