Program

Daily Program

Simultaneous interpretation is provided during this conference.

Home / Program / Daily Program

Plenary 3

How do we imagine and invest in walkable cities for the future?

May 27(Thu.), 202109:00~10:20(KST) / 20:00~21:20(EDT) / 01:00~02:20(BST)

Session Description

How we move has always impacted on the development of our urban fabrics, from walkable old cities to motor-dependent urban sprawl. What will shape our old and new cities as we move into the future? This session will explore what is helpful, what is necessary and what is possible to build into our urban forms?

Moderator

  • Lloyd Wright Senior Urban Development Specialist, Asian Development Bank (ADB)

Speakers

  • Jonathan Ward Design Partner, NBBJ, USA
  • Rodney Tolley Conference Director, Walk21
  • Annisa Dyah Lazuardini Urban and Visual Design Associate, Institute for Transportation and Development Policy (ITDP)

Plenary 4 **Korean Session**

Pedestrian Policy and task for the better Seoul

May 27(Thu.), 202110:30~11:50(KST) / 21:30~22:50(EDT) / 02:30~03:50(BST)

Session Description

“A City of Walkers, Seoul” includes main projects including “Road Diet.” In this session, we will explore how the project was initiated and introduce its main agenda. At the same time, we will touch on exemplary cases such as the “Pedestrian Forest Path on Sejong-daero” and “Seoullo 7017” to discuss how they will be further improved.

Moderator

  • Jaeick Shim Senior Researcher, Department of Road Transport, Korea Transport Institute

Speakers

  • Shinhae Lee Senior Research Fellow, Department of Transportaion System Research, The Seoul Institute
  • Sunghoon Oh Senior Research Fellow, Department of Planning and Coordination Architecture and Urban Research Institute
  • Joohee Hong Professional Engineer, Department of Pedestrian Policy Division, Seoul Metropolitan Government

Plenary 5

Building momentum, measuring impact

May 27(Thu.), 202113:00~14:20(KST) / 00:00~01:20(EDT) / 05:00~06:20(BST)

Session Description

From national policies to local implementation, communities need governments to leverage investment, commitment and engagement to deliver more walkable communities. This session will explore what national and regional governments can do to foster more walking and better infrastructure locally.

Moderator

  • Bronwen Thornton CEO, Walk21

Speakers

  • Claire Pascoe Lead Advisor Urban Transformation, NZ Transport Agency
  • Cam Perkins Director, Urban Pirates, New Zealand
  • Robyn Davies Manager (Walking and Cycling), Department of Transport and Main Roads, Queensland, Australia
  • Filip van As Program manager pedestrian policy and coordinator national walking platform, Ministry of Infrastructure and Water Management, Netherlands

Oral Presentation 2

Community co-creation and health promotion campaigns

May 27(Thu.), 202114:30~15:50(KST) / 01:30~02:50(EDT) / 06:30~07:50(BST)

Session Description

How do we motivate people to walk more? This session will explore a range of initiatives from street improvements to tech to engage the local community in improving their streets and to walk more.

Moderator

  • Jennifer Wiggle Principal Consultant,

Speakers

  • Trey Park Team Member, ChangeWalk
  • André De Wit Advisor Mobility, City of Rotterdam
  • Salih Alansari Founder, CEO, Health Promotion Center, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
  • Hirotaka Koike Professor, Utsunomiya Kyowa University, Japan
  • Richard Vinc Nicolay Santoso Application Developer, Koalisi Pejalan Kaki, Indonesia

Oral Presentation 3

Walking and Public Transport - Benefits and impacts

May 27(Thu.), 202116:00~17:20(KST) / 03:00~04:20(EDT) / 08:00~09:20(BST)

Session Description

The symbiotic relationship between walking and public transport is well established but ensuring walkable catchments does not automatically follow. This session will explore the benefits and opportunities through work from India, Norway, Bangladesh, Colobmia and South Korea.

Moderator

  • Ben Rossiter Executive Officer, Victoria Walks, Australia

Speakers

  • Helge Hillnhütter Associate Professor, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)
  • Shaila Islam Assistant Professor, Dhaka University of Engineering and Technology, Gazipur, Bangladesh
  • Seungkook Wu Team Director, Senior Researcher, Road Traffic Operation and Pedestrian Mobility Research, Korea Transport Institute

Plenary 6

The Future of Research for Walking; VREF Session

May 27(Thu.), 202117:30~18:50(KST) / 04:30~05:50(EDT) / 09:30~10:50(BST)

Session Description

Co-organised with the Volvo Research and Education Foundation (VREF) this session will bring together academics from around the world to focus on the critical questions we need to be framing and exploring over the next few years about walking as a mode of transport. The session will seek to foster collaboration and engagement on what are the knowledge gaps and the opportunities for addressing them.

Moderator

  • Lorraine D'Arcy Senior Lecturer, Department of Sustainable Transport and Mobility, Technological University Dublin (TU Dublin)

Speakers

  • Henrik Nolmark Director, Volvo Research and Educational Foundations (VREF)
  • Bronwen Thornton CEO, Walk21
  • Heather Allen Sustainable transport expert, Median scl
  • Regina Obilie Amoako-Sakyi Senior Lecturer, University of Cape Coast (UCC), Ghana
  • Helge Hillnhütter Associate Professor, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)
  • Geetam Tiwari Professor, Department of Transportation Research and Injury Prevention Programme (TRIPP), Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Delhi
Top