Program

Daily Program

Simultaneous interpretation is provided during this conference.

Home / Program / Daily Program

Opening Ceremony

May 26(Wed.), 202115:00~15:30(KST) / 02:00~02:30(EDT) / 07:00~07:30(BST)

Session Description

Opening Remarks
Welcoming Remarks
Congratulatory Remarks
Showcase Seoul

Speakers

  • Oh Se-hoon Mayor, Seoul
  • Jim Walker Founder, Walk21
  • Judith Bokhove Vice Mayor for Urban Mobility, City of Rotterdam
  • Sangkook Lee Division Leader, Department of Pedestrian Policy Division, Seoul Metropolitan Government

Keynote Session

May 26(Wed.), 202115:30~16:10(KST) / 02:30~03:10(EDT) / 07:30~08:10(BST)

Moderator

  • Bronwen Thornton CEO, Walk21

Speakers

  • Shane O'Mara Professor of Experimental Brain Research and Wellcome Trust Senior Investigator, School of Psychology and Institute of Neuroscience, Trinity College Dublin

Plenary 1

Global Imperatives for supporting more walking and creating walkable cities

May 26(Wed.), 202116:20~17:40(KST) / 03:20~04:40(EDT) / 08:20~09:40(BST)

Session Description

Investing in walkable cities is the solution that answers so many of the challenges we face as a global community. These challenges are also the driver we need to build the case for investment and priority for people on foot. We will hear from experts in road safety, climate action, equity, gender and physical activity to draw together the threads of how harnessing more walking to support these agendas is critical for their success.

Moderator

  • Bronwen Thornton CEO, Walk21

Speakers

  • Francesca Racioppi Head, WHO European Centre for Environment and Health
  • Etienne Krug Director, Department of Noncommunicable Diseases, Disability, Violence and Injury Prevention, World Health Organization (WHO)
  • Maruxa Cardama Secretary General, SLOCAT Partnership
  • Rachel Cahill Head of Executive Office, Transport Infrastructure Ireland (TII)

Plenary 2

Post-pandemic: putting our best foot forward for resilience and regeneration

May 26(Wed.), 202118:00~19:20(KST) / 05:00~06:20(EDT) / 10:00~11:20(BST)

Session Description

As the COVID-19 pandemic continues to impact our daily lives, our mobility and public spaces, we reflect on the response to these challenges and how to harness the lessons learnt for a better future. With speakers from Asia, Africa, Colombia and Europe we will identify the critical next steps being taken to move forward for a more resilient future.

Moderator

  • Jim Walker Founder, Walk21

Speakers

  • Carlos Felipe Pardo Senior Advisor, The New Urban Mobility alliance (NUMO)
  • Aswathy Dilip Senior Programme Manager, Institute for Transportation and Development Policy (ITDP)
  • Maria-José Rojo Callizo Coordinator Active Travel & Health, POLIS Network
  • Janene Tuniz Programme Coordinator - Share the Road, UN Environment Programme (UNEP)

Oral Presentation 1

Building a walkable city

May 26(Wed.), 202119:30~20:50(KST) / 06:30~07:50(EDT) / 11:30~12:50(BST)

Session Description

Cities are increasingly investing in more walkable streets and neighbourhoods to enhance liveability and economic prosperity. This session will explore the elements of success from leading world cities and their future plans.

Moderator

  • Simon Ng Director – Policy & Research, Business Environment Council (BEC)

Speakers

  • Bruce McVean Acting Assistant Director – City Transportation, City of London
  • José Besselink Urban Planner, City of Rotterdam
  • Dino Buzzi General Director, Mobility Planning, Buenos Aires City Government
  • Alice Perrin Research officer on quality of public space and accessibility, Roads and Mobility Department, Ville de Paris
  • Hyeongkwon Sohn Team Leader, Department of Pedestrian Policy Division, Seoul Metropolitan Government
Top